4 Questions for My Atheist Visitor

Joe,

Since you have taken my advice and started using proper punctuation, I have decided to give you a post of your own.  Consider yourself honored beyond what you deserve.  I was a teen-age atheist once, so I am curious about your non-belief.  Anyhow, I have a few questions for you as a self-described “non believer who non believes.”

1.  You said that you are here to “set the record straight.”  I assume that means you would like me to become a “non believer (who non believes)” too.  Can you tell me, based on your atheistic assumptions, why it is a worthy endeavor for you to persuade me to become a non believer?  After all, you only have a short time on this planet.  Aren’t there better things to do?

2.  You are arguing against Christianity rather strenuously, if not persuasively.  And yet lots of other humans disagree.  Given your atheistic assumptions (which I presume includes human evolution unguided by divine intervention), can you tell me why either of our brains are suited to figure out matters of theology, and why I should trust your brain more than mine on these matters?  After all, if we are products of random mutations, why should our brains be particularly reliable in areas outside of eating, avoiding being eaten, and having at least a passing interest in procreation?

3.  Since you think that God is evil because He freely admits to “killing innocent Egyptian babies,” would I be correct in thinking that you are opposed to abortion, and particularly, partial-birth abortion, where the half-delivered fetus is killed before being fully delivered?  Or is that somehow OK?

4.   Given your atheist assumptions, can you explain “good” and “evil” to me in a way such that you are not merely expressing a personal preference about what you like and don’t like?  I.e., from your point of view, how would you attempt to persuade Idi Amin that is was bad for him to kill and eat people who disagreed with him?  After all, Uganda was overpopulated, the people were causing an unnecessary fuss, and Idi Amin thought they tasted good.  So why shouldn’t he have done that, if that is what he wanted to do?

I look forward to your answers.

5 thoughts on “4 Questions for My Atheist Visitor

  1. “can you tell me why either of our brains are suited to figure out matters of theology”
    The fact that you are doing it surely suggests it is possible. The actual processes behind this could of course be studied.
    But why theology? Surely that is a circular discipline. Starting with an assumption to then go on to prove the assumption ad nuseum.
    Surely a more important question is to investigate why our brains are capable of perceiving reality, investigating reality and building an understanding of it. Theology is not going to help here.

  2. I’m not trying to make anyone a non-believer. You either think or you dont, as long as you have checked your brain at the door to freely accept “blind faith” as a way of life, that’s your business.
    My problem with organized religion is two fold. First it’s long consistent history of violence and exclusivity. Secondly, religion is fine with me as long as it keeps out of my life. I don’t like organized religion infiltrating government, banning books, censoring tv, causing wars, and continually trying to cram their intolerance and beliefs down the throats of others.
    As I non believer my values come out of regard for my fellow humans and a reasoned understanding of the consequences of my actions. I dont need no stinkin bible
    Do away with religion and simply embrace the Golden Rule, over night the world becomes a friendlier, safer, more sane environment.
    I suspect many christians are so morally corrupt they have no higher motive for right behavior than the selfish desire to avoid a punishment or earn a celestial reward. One need look no further than many of the leaders of the Republican party, they profess their christian values, they extoll family values and tolerance but live their lives completely opposite of what they profess.
    What would Jesus do? Would he invade Iraq and kill thousands of innocent people? Would Jesus promote the rich at the expense of the poor? Would Jesus approve of the lying and deceit promoted by our leaders. I think not! Yet so many christian lambs follow blindly along.

    And surprise surprise! Union City Joe is against abortion! And a registered voting Republican. Unlike many here I try to see right and wrong without covering my eyes with the bandages of partisan politics. Right is right and wrong and wrong and a bad leader or fool is a bad leader or fool regardless of his political party.
    I’m not sure about Idi Amin but I think he might have been a practicing christian. Maybe he even said grace before devouring his choice cut of human flesh.

  3. Joe,

    Idi Amin died in exile in Saudi Arabia, protected by the Saudi royal family. He was a practicing Muslim.

    I am pleasantly surprised to hear that you are against abortion.

    I have a hard time believing that you are a registered Republican, but then again, I know a lot of people who don’t vote according to the way they are registered. Is there an actual Republican that you would vote for if he won the nomination?

    As for the rest of your post, I accept that you have morals without referring directly to the Bible or any other religious authority. However, let me suggest that a lot of your morality is borrowed from Christianity. You mentioned the Golden Rule. That comes directly from Jesus, and he was summarizing Moses, who as a prophet received his words from God. The Golden Rule is obvious to you and me, simply because we learned it, directly or indirectly, from Jesus. You could not learn the Golden Rule from Mohammed, and I know that you would not have learned it from my Viking ancestors.

    The problem with borrowed morality, like borrowed money, is that it disappears rather quickly, and then the bills come due. When the reason for the moral behavior disappears, within a generation or so the moral behavior itself disappears.

  4. Ron Paul would get my vote, and possibly a few other moderate republicans if they were running against Clinton. this country needs a good non believer for president, where is Robert Ingersoll when I need him

  5. Ron Paul would give you a pro-life position, plus opposition to the Iraq war. I don’t think he qualifies as a “good non-believer” though.

    Since the US is, on average, a nation of Christians who don’t understand or practice their religion very well, we usually manage to elect someone who represents us in that respect.

Leave a Reply

