Two Sniglets for the Day

Back in the 1980’s, sniglets were very popular.  A sniglet is defined as “a word that should be in the dictionary, but isn’t.”  Often sniglets are combinations of two words (i.e. “gerbage” is the stuff at the bottom of the baby food jar), or a slight twist on a “normal” word. Here are a couple of sniglets that came to mind today:

Povert (pǒv´ẽrt) – combination of poverty + pervert
A person who gets in financial trouble because his priorites are totally screwed up.  For example, a man who spends $2,000 on golf clubs, but who won’t make sure his wife has a decent dishwasher.   The best example of a povert I know of is a fellow who paid for his girlfriend’s plastic surgery with his credit card.  By the time the credit card bill came due, she had dumped him.  I first heard this word from James Jordan in the 1980’s.

De-vangelist – A person who agressively attempts to get you to see the light and convert to atheism.  They are certain that no news is good news.  Unlike Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons, who knock on your door, these fellows usually appear on the Internet.  (I had hoped this word was my invention, but a Google search revealed that someone beat me to it.  Dang!!!)

7 thoughts on “Two Sniglets for the Day

  1. Actually, Joe, I would consider them de-vangelists in a second sense.

    They are so bad that they probably create more atheists than Christians. Saint Paul said about certain hypocrites, “For the name of God is blasphemed among the Gentiles because of you.”

    Pat Robertson likes to predict the future in God’s name, and then have it not happen. That makes him a certifiable false prophet, and in Old Testament times, he would have been stoned. At the very least, no Christian today should listen to a word he says, and no Christian young person should go to Regent University until he is removed from their board.

    And we all know too much about Jimmy Swaggart. But to their credit, the Assemblies of God suspended him from the ministry when his visits to prostitutes became known, so Christians can honestly say that he is not one of us, but is more of a cultic figure.

  2. I didnt wait for the Assemblies of god to dismiss Swaggart. I took care of business along time ago and dismissed him. I opened up my heart to the writings of Steve Allen, Robert Ingersoll and Sam Harris.
    I never would make a good christian, I never wanted to burn a witch or skewer a heretic on the end of my lance

  3. Joe,

    I have not heard of Steve Allen or Robert Ingersoll, but I know of Sam Harris.

    If you wanted to hear from the other side, I recommend that you read Doug Wilson’s “Letter from a Christian Citizen.” This is a book-length response to Sam Harris from a Christian pastor. Amazon.com has it in paperback now, or you can go to “Blog and Mablog” on my blogroll and search the Archives for “Letters to Sam Harris”, and you will see the beginnings of his book in serial form.

    In regard to your comments about witch-burning and heretic-skewering, we haven’t done that (at least in a literal sense) in several centuries. The unpleasantness in Salem was the last time, in America at least, and it actually happened despite the efforts of pastors (particularly Cotton Mather) to stop it. The normal way of dealing with witchcraft in Puritan New England was through fasting and prayer to reclaim the person caught up in witchcraft.

  4. Yes, religious men in New England feared witches so they burned women.
    Robert Ingersoll is a legend in the non believer world, he lived at the turn of the 19th century. He debated religion throughout the land, filling tents by the thousands to hear him debate religious men of the cloth. Some say if he would have belleved in a god he might have been president.
    I suggest a good play to see or book to read for you would be the Crucible
    I dont think christians are allowed or ever dare read strong focused anti god literature. You sure dont want to ever hear the other side, blind faith does not allow for that

    And our biblical story of the day is the enchanting story of Elsiha. Elisha went for a walk one day. As he walked, boys from the city, mocked and made jest of him for having a bald head.
    Elisha turned and cursed the boys in the name of the lord. At that very moment in response to his godly curse, 2 bears came out of the woods and killed 42 of the young boys.
    It is written
    Why dont they ever read that particular verse at Sunday service? Does the Koran have any cool stuff like that in its pages?

  5. Hi Joe,

    It sound like Robert Ingersoll was a de-vangelist. In fact, though he was an unbeliever, the Wikipedia article says he still used the “tent meeting” style of getting his message out to the public.

    I read “The Crucible” in high school. (This was when I was a teen-age atheist.) I hated it just as much as I hated “Death of a Salesman.” Later, when I took a class in Early American History in college, I learned how much “The Crucible” was a work of fiction. It is about as accurate in its portrayal of the Salem Witch trials as “The Sound of Music” is in its portrayal of the Von Trapp family.

    As for Elishah, I have heard that passage both read and preached on, so you are wrong that this passage is not taught in churches. The passage does not embarrass me one bit.

    You are also picturing things wrongly. First of all, the “youths” who insulted him are not innocent little boys just teasing him. They are young men, and are more like gang members. “Go up, you baldhead” may well be an invitation to fight. (There is similar language in I Samuel 14:12.) Obviously they got more than they bargained for.

  6. I’m glad I have a full head of hair. Being a non believer I wouldnt have any bears to call out if someone mocked me. And my thought for the day is, a kind loving god is one of the noblest creations of mankind

Leave a Reply

