Books for February

Just today I finished reading The Hobbit to Christopher.  He really liked it, and even understood it pretty well.  Unfortunately, The Lord of the Rings is much more complex, and I will have to wait a few more years before beginning that for him.  (I am reading that to Susie.)

I am nearly done with Jesus of Nazareth, by Pope Benedict XVI.  I hope to post a short review of this book when I am done.

 I am also reading, and playing through, the St. Petersburg 1914 International Chess Tournament, by Dr. Siegbert Tarrasch.  This is the record of one of the strongest chess tournaments ever played, which happened on the eve of World War I.  Dr. Tarrasch was one of the most influential chess writers ever, so his notes on the games are quite good, although the understanding of chess has advanced so much in the last century that some of his notes appear dated even to a player of my strength.  For example, nearly all of the games in this tournament began with both players advancing their King or Queen’s Pawns two squares forward.  Those sorts of openings make up less than 1/3 of master level games now.

Leave a Reply

