#$@#$%^% Sunshine and Flowers

It is way too nice to blog, but the FDA and the state of California have determined that sunshine is hazardous to your health, so I have to come in sometimes.  I can’t spend the whole day at poolside watching the kids swim.

I am extremely skeptical about the health warnings concerning sunlight.  First of all, this is a fallen world, and so you have to take the bad with the good.  Sunshine is known to prevent/reduce depression, and help your body produce vitamin D.  Depression leads to suicide, which led to 32,637 deaths in 2005.  That is more than 4 times the number killed by skin cancer. So if I am doing the math right, the anti-depressant effects of sunshine more than compensate for the dangers, as long as you use common sense and don’t lie out in the sun half-naked all day.

When buying sunscreen, most products advertise as if a higher SPF number is better. The problem with this is that if you use 30 SPF sunscreen, you will never get a tan and you will look pasty even after a day at the beach. The fact is that tanning is God’s way of protecting you from overexposure to the sun, and with a good tan, you don’t have to worry about running out of it, or missing a spot, or not being able to buy more of it. Luckily, I could find some 6 SPF lotion that will let me actually get a tan, so I don’t have to worry so much about getting a bad burn later.

Locust tree flowers are everywhere, and they are dropping into my swimming pool. I think Euell Gibbons had a recipe for these, fried.  I decided I would collect them and use them as mulch for the garden.

If someone could figure out how to make cottonwood fluffies into clothing, they could become rich. In some places in Erie, they make the ground white like snow. There are enough of these in my pool and yard to make a respectable size bikini. Of course, the fibers in cottonwood are shorter than real cotton, so the bikini might not remain respectable for very long.

Today I saw an interesting sight.  I wish I had a camera.  A woman who appeared to be a Sudanese immigrant (we have a lot of them in Erie:  if I came from Sudan I would prefer to settle in North Carolina, but I would be happy to live anywhere without a lot of armed Muslims) was walking home from Wal-Mart.  Instead of having a huge jug of water balanced on her head, like she would in Africa, she had a case of bottled water balanced on her head.  So American and so African at the same time…

3 thoughts on “#$@#$%^% Sunshine and Flowers

  1. Why do I have the feeling I’m going to dream tonight about a Sudanese lady carrying water on her head, while wearing a bikini and singing “Sunshine on My Shoulders?” 😉

  2. @Jane… 😆

    we have a lovely day here today, just back from a nice bike ride in the park! we use to buy SPF 16 in SA…but that was just “us”… and in Pretoria it usually gets 26 C and if there’s a heat wave…then it’s something between 34-36… when at the sea side, we would buy SPF30…i haven’t got my tan anymore…for obvious reasons, but glad that i still have a light “shade” of it when out in the sun and not a very English-look… 😉

  3. For many, their motivation for using sunscreen is to prevent the effects of aging. No worries about skin cancer. I guess looking old is a fate worse than death.

Leave a Reply

