I Feel Lucky (The Friday the 13th Post)

I am usually the least superstitious person on the planet.

I step on cracks with wild abandon, and my mother’s back is in better shape than mine.

I have broken mirrors several times, with no noticeable problems.

If a herd of black cats crossed my path, it would not trouble me in the least. Although, if cats formed herds, I would suspect that they are up to something.

Walking under a ladder doesn’t bother me either, as long as I don’t violate the rules of common sense. For example, if I see a ladder that looks like it’s rated for 150 pounds, and a guy who looks like he is 350 pounds is on the top step of the ladder, violating OSHA rules, with a bucket of paint, I will stay away. This is doubly true if he is chewing tobacco and spitting. Nothing good can happen there.

However, Friday the 13th does bother me a bit. This is because, nearly 20 years ago, I was laid off from my first “real” job on a Friday the 13th, along with quite a large percentage of the company I was working for at the time. Never mind that I found a better job in a few months, I still don’t like the day very much, although the feeling is fading now that about 50 Friday the 13ths have come and gone without incident.

The worst thing that has happened so far today is that I forgot to ask for vacation, so I had to work all day.

My daughter, in contrast, says, “I like Fridays, and I’m 13, so what can be bad about Friday the 13th?”

For everyone who needs to laugh at superstition, here is Mary Chapin Carpenter’s “I Feel Lucky.”

13 thoughts on “I Feel Lucky (The Friday the 13th Post)

  1. How about this? I didn’t think of it until I read this post this (Saturday) morning, but that layoff happened on Friday, June 13.

    Quite the anniversary, indeed.

    Oh, well, it got us out of Easton, so it wasn’t all bad. πŸ˜‰

  2. No ma’am, that was an October (or November), because the layoff led me to work Christmas rush at P & R publishing with you, and I was only out of work for about two months on that layoff.

    (Hint for young engineers: working in the defense industry is unstable. Don’t do it unless you are prepared to live from contract to contract.)

    But yes, escaping Easton, PA for points west was good. If we had stayed in Easton, I might be speaking with a New Jersey accent by now.

  3. Nikita, thanks for the reminder.

    I suppose you don’t hear much American “Country” music over in England.

    Do you have any good South African superstitions that you don’t believe in? Like, if a black lion crosses your path, is that bad luck?

  4. hi Ray…I suppose I’m not tuned in on the radio stations where they play it…so I don’t really know as I’m not really listening to radio…if I have to, then I prefer a SA radio station which we can tune into from London..sometimes I like to listen to radio Jackie ..(in the car), it’s a West London radio station…about superstitions…we basically have the same ones as you in the USA or people from other countries..like the black cat/ladder…etc. but some ethnic groups like the Zulus have their own…like the Tokoloshe…they believe diff things about the Tokoloshe… so be careful what you say about me…the Tokoloshe will come and get you!! lol! πŸ˜‰ and make sure you have about 2 bricks under the legs of your bed when you go to bed…that will keep the Tokoloshe away… πŸ˜‰

  5. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tikoloshe
    Hi Ray…there’s a link…it’s a “bad” creature… πŸ˜‰ my one sister (8 years older than i am!) used to say to me — when i was little ..about age 8/9…that the Tokoloshe will come and get me …if i didn’t want to do something she wanted me to do… lol… but that was always a joke, we didn’t believe in it…but many black people from diff tribes believe in it…

  6. They seem to be all purpose bad guys. They can do anything from biting your toes off, to causing an unplanned pregnancy.

    Some Democrats in the USA must think that George W. Bush is a Tikoloshe. πŸ™‚

  7. Yeah, I’d better put some bricks under the bed. πŸ™‚

    I wonder if they can make you make bad moves in a chess game?

  8. πŸ˜‰ I think that’s where my bad moves come from, I’ve always wondered why my chess is so bad…now I know… lol! good luck with the bricks, make sure it’s 2 with each leg! hahaha….

Leave a Reply

