Frankenstein vs. Dracula on the Chessboard

Time for a break from politics and back to some fun stuff.  Here is another of my chess games.  This wild game, though short, does not resemble Bambi vs. Godzilla  or Dracula vs. Sleeping Beauty.  No, this is Dracula vs. Frankenstein.  I play Dracula in this game.

My opponent’s move 2. Nc3 makes this a Vienna Game.  White has a variety of attacking plans, and usually the game will be exciting.  I responded with 2. … Nf6, which is the most aggressive response, and in turn his reply 3. Bc4 is the most aggressive, attacking the f7 square that will be the cornerstone of my castle.

I could have reacted defensively here, but instead, with 4. … Nxe4, I draw first blood and provoke a wild attack.  We have now left Vienna for Transylvania, and the dangerous wilds of the Frankenstein-Dracula Variation of the Vienna Game.  As Black, I am Dracula.

If he takes my Knight, I can play 5. .. d5, forking his Bishop and Knight.  So instead, he plays 5. Qh5, threatening mate on f7.  My greedy Knight must retreat to d6 defend the castle. 

The next moves are a careful dance, where Frankenstein’s bride attempts to mate me on f7.  First he retreats his Bishop so he can keep the mate threat on f7.  I move 6. … Nc6 to defend my King Pawn. His 6. Nb5 threatens to remove my Knight on d6 and checkmate me on f7, so I have to play 6. … g6 and threaten his Queen.  When the Queen goes back to f3, attacking f7 fromm another angle, I protect again by pushing my pawn up to f5.  Then the Queen goes to d5, attacking f7 from a third location, and forcing my Queen to the defense with 8. .. Qf7.  Now my c7 square is unprotected, and White’s Knight first takes the pawn on c7, and then takes my Rook.  With 10. … b6 I lock his Knight in and stop the bleeding.

It looks like I am in bad shape, but all this is intentional.  White is ahead by a Rook, but 7 of his 10 moves have been with either his doomed Knight or his Queen.  I also have an advantage in space and development.  Black now gets his pieces out quickly and gets to counterattack.  Leading chessplayers do not know which side is better, but they agree that the position is not for the faint of heart, and he who errs first loses.

His 11. d3 lets him get his Bishop free.  11. … Bb7 attacks his Knight, and threatens to attack the Queen if my Knight on c6 moves.  Usually at this point White will play 12. h4, which threatens Bg5, pinning Dracula’s Bride.  Instead White tried something different here with 12. Nf3.  He still threatens Bg5, but when I counter the threat with 12. … f4, the Bride of Frankenstein has no where to go.  13. c3 would have been better for him, since he would have gotten several pieces in return for the Queen, but 13. O-O enables me to capture her more cheaply with 13. … Nd4.  With 14. Nxd4 he could have gotten two pieces for my Queen, and he may have saved his trapped Knight.  The game could go on a long time.

14. Nxe4 was his choice, however, and this gave him an opportunity to capture the Bride of Dracula.  Unfortunately for White, capturing my Queen costs him almost all of his pieces, and leaves me way ahead in material.  I allow this with 15. … Nxb3, choosing to sacrifice my Queen, while threatening more of his pieces.  17. … Nxa1 is unusual, in that I take his undeveloped Rook rather than the one next to my King.  However, by doing this, I am threatening his Rook, Knight, and Pawn, while only my pawn on f4 is threatened.  He will have to lose more material. 

I am now up by 3 pieces, so my goal is to develop my pieces and go on the attack. 19. … Nxf5 brings my Knight to a good square where it can threaten his castle and support the escape of my Knight on a1.  Chasing it with g4 just creates a weakness in his castle and makes me move to a better square.  22. Re8+ harasses me, but doesn’t gain any material, since I can fork his King and Bishop.  When he takes my Bishop on a8, his Rook is effectively out of the action. 

After advancing my pawn to protect it, and getting my King to safety, I will be able to storm Frankenstein’s castle with all 4 of my pieces.  At this point, Frankenstein says “We belong dead”, and resigned.

2 thoughts on “Frankenstein vs. Dracula on the Chessboard

  1. Very good game, first time I played through it, i forgot you were black! 🙂 and thought you were in the weaker position and then looked at your names and then could slap myself…LOL! well done! was a good game! I finished one on the other site this afternoon, a final in a tourney. Was really a good game, might blog it soon. I liked your fork of the bishop/king too. I was lucky to fork my opponent’s King/Queen in my game- then he knew it was “curtains” for him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

