Meet the New Queen of Chess: Alexandra Kosteniuk

Some time ago, I posted about Alexandra Kosteniuk, the photogenic Russian chessplayer and model, who was at that time the top rated chess player in Russia.

Since then, her life has changed a bit.  She and her husband Diego Garces (a photographer) now have a young daughter. 

Also, she just recently won the Women’s World Chess Championship, defeating Hou Yifan from China.  Chessalee, my absolute favorite English and Afrikaans chess site, has more pictures and links to the games here. 

Here is a picture of the new Queen, along with the opponent she defeated:

When a guy wins the World Chess Championship, he doesn’t get to dress up like this.  He just gets a lots of money and a trophy or something.  But who wants life to be fair?

2 thoughts on “Meet the New Queen of Chess: Alexandra Kosteniuk

  1. Wow, What a grand photograph! I so truly admire those who can play chess at that level. I am chess-challenged. But I’m good at table tennis if that counts for anything !?!?! LOL.

  2. 🙂 Thanks for your kind words! And I wondered about the same thing when I saw that image on the Official site, but you should be able to find a pic with her little baby, I saw one a few days ago, it’s easy with a search. But…”chess was invented by a goddess”…read the quote on my blog, just above the banner so I guess that’s why she dressed up like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

