80134-MG

I don’t know what to do about this, but I recently witnessed an Erie police officer blatantly violating traffic laws.  Anyhow, here are the facts:

Last Friday night, October 17, at about 6:50 p.m., I was driving west on 10th Street.  When I was at about Holland street, an Erie police car with license plate number 80134-MG passed me.

He passed me on a part of the street with double solid lines, and he did not have lights or sirens on, so he was clearly breaking the law.  Right after passing me on the left, he made a right turn.  I didn’t have a radar gun, but if he passed me, he was definitely speeding too.

Does anyone know why it would be OK for a policeman to do this?  If I had passed a police car on the double solid lines, I am sure that i would be ticketed.  Alternately, does anyone know if there is a place I can register my disapproval other than posting it on this blog?

4 thoughts on “80134-MG

  1. That doesn’t seem like a good policy. Better (in the majority of circumstances) to let the criminals get away, than for an innocent motorist to get nailed because the lights and sirens aren’t used for the very purpose for which they exist, which is to warn people of unusual police driving behaviors. Since I didn’t read of a murder or attempted murder in the paper Saturday morning, I doubt that whatever was going on justified putting motorists at risk without warning.

    Besides, how would turning on the lights interfere with apprehending the criminals? Sirens I can understand; not lights. And if you don’t use them for crimes in progress, when would you use them anyway? If it’s not a crime in progress, there’s no hurry, and no need for unconventional driving. That doesn’t make sense to me.

  2. I do agree with you SheWhoPicksUpToys/Ray!
    “talking” about license plate numbers…when we went to the Lake District during July/Aug, on the busy highway, traffic very, very heavy, one motorist almost (well, he tried his best to do it!) pushed me (on purpose!) into the lane on my left..which was busy too…I almost freaked out! A man in a van with 2 small children, hubby took photos of the van and wrote down the number of his license plate…I still want to blog that road pig…as he could cause a serious accident…and I wasn’t driving as if I was a slug! you have to keep going in that traffic otherwise you will spend the whole day on the road.

Leave a Reply

