New Year’s Resolutions For 2009

Tis the season to make New Year’s Resolutions.  I wonder if putting them up on the Internet for everyone to see will help me to keep them.

1.  Make sure to take the Mrs. out once a week.  Getting time alone with SheWhoPicksUpToys is a challenge around here, so I want to get out with her more, even if each time out is not for something exciting or romantic.  I tried this last year, and was doing OK for a while, but lack of creativity, plus cheapness, led to slacking off. 

2.  Read the Koran, and blog about it.  We will be dealing with Islam a lot in this century, whether we want to or not, so understanding Islam is about as important as understanding Communism was in the 20th century.  I hope to read the Koran, Surah by Surah, and write blog some comments as I go along.

3.  Follow the Scripture readings and prayers in the Book of Common Prayer.  I started this on Advent, and have been pretty good about it.  I hope to continue through the church year.

4.  Start doing basic car maintenance again.  Some of the motivation is saving money, but also I should teach my kids how to do the basics, especially since one can drive now, and another will be driving before the end of the year.

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions For 2009

  1. 4 goals that will bring insight, challenge your faith, build your marriage, bless your kids AND make your car last.

    Check out the most funny and unusual resolutions for 2009 at:

    andeeroo.wordpress.com

  2. Well, he’s good for this week on #1. To be fair, sometimes the busyness of our lives sabotaged his honest efforts to fulfill this one last year. I expect that to happen again this year, but I do appreciate the effort!

Leave a Reply

