New Year’s Resolutions 2010

OK, so everyone makes and breaks New Year’s resolutions, but it doesn’t stop  us from trying again the next year.  Last year, I posted 4 resolutions, kept one of them for the whole year, and kept two others for long enough to do some good.  So, ladies and gentlemen, here we go again:

1.  I will attempt to enjoy my freedoms as an American citizen in a special way this year.  Each week, I will try to do something that is perfectly legal in the USA, but could get me arrested, beaten, imprisoned, or even executed in some other country.  I will try not to record repeat offenses, but come up with something new every week.  Lord willing, I will update you all periodically on my progress.

2.  I will attempt to lose 15 pounds.  I just weighed in at 180 pounds, in my underwear (yeah that’s too much information), after a Thanksgiving, Advent, Christmas, and New Year’s full of self indulgence.

Losing weight is a common New Year’s resolution, but the real battle here will be against laziness and gluttony.   Some people can blame their weight on their metabolism, but I am not one of them.  I think St. Paul said something about “the sins of some men go ahead of them, and the sins of others trail behind.”  If you take that in a thick-headedly literal sense, gluttony can go either way.

3.  I will attempt, once again, to read the Koran and blog about it.  I tried this last year, and I didn’t get too far.  I read a few Suras of it, took a few notes, and I wrote nothing.

4.  There is an area in my house that I could call the “Graveyard for unfinished projects.”  This is where some old projects (typically involving guy hobbies like model airplanes) have gone to fester.  I will attempt to revive these projects and finish them (with the aid of interested and capable little hands), thus reclaiming some living space.

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2010

  1. I think you’re right about weight gain — I was just going to mention that you might want to wait till late winter/early spring to start trying to lose weight since that’s when it’s more natural to start shedding the few extra we seemed designed to put on in the fall. But seeing your comment here, you probably already knew that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

