“Roar on the Shore” and the Limits of Feminism

For my non-local readers, “Roar on the Shore”  is an Erie event where motorcyclists gather.  I heard that there might be as many as 50,000 motorcyclists in Erie this weekend, and judging from traffic, I believe it.

Personally, when I use two wheels, I supply my own power, but to each his own.  However, the event shows us something about human nature.

I have seen thousands of men riding solo.

I have seen hundreds of women riding solo.

I have seen hundreds of  men riding with a female in the back seat, supported by a vertical fender strut.

What I have NEVER seen ANYWHERE is a motorcycle driven by a woman, where a man is sitting in the back, supported by a vertical fender strut.

Are there no feminists in this crowd?  Isn’t there a single “liberated” woman, even in a crowd of 50,000, whose husband shares driving time, and occasionally takes his turn in the back?  Not even once in a while?

Apparently, feminism has its limits.

3 thoughts on ““Roar on the Shore” and the Limits of Feminism

  1. I am lost for words as to why Mr. Danny Lucas has spearheaded a smear campaign against me. I have no idea what his motives are and with that said, I sort of pity him for his disillusionment. Please know that I have never written an off color comment on your blog nor would I ever and most of all, I am not a troll as I stand accused. I do however respect your decision to ban me from commenting on your blog should you choose to do so and will hold no ill will. God Bless.

  2. Alfred, I have not banned you, but, as Roz from Monsters, Inc. would say, “I’ll be watching you.” I did delete your comment above (your other comment is still up), because it was off-topic and rather unkind, and I believe I also deleted an older comment. I know that Danny was concerned that you shared his name, and he believes that you are trying to impersonate him. Stylistically, the two of you could not be farther apart, so if you were trying to imitate him you failed pretty badly.

Leave a Reply

