The Real Mystery of Marjorie Diehl-Armstrong

For my out-of-town readers, the big story in Erie this week is that the “Pizza-Bomber” case is finally going to court.   Apparently Brian Wells, the pizza deliveryman who died when the bomb around his neck exploded, was part of a plot masterminded by Marjorie Diehl-Armstrong.  Marjorie Diehl-Armstrong was using Brian Wells as part of her plot to rob a bank, so that she could raise the money to hire a hit man to kill her father, so that she could inherit his money.

You can read more about the story here.  Warning:  The people involved in this crime are amazingly depraved, even for criminals.

By blogging about this, I have practically guaranteed that my wife and I will not have to serve on the jury for this bizarre case.  I feel much better now.

The real mystery about this case is not the murder or the bank robbery.  It is how Marjorie Diehl-Armstrong (see picture below) managed to have 3 different boyfriends during the period the crimes were committed.

The orange jumpsuit isn’t very flattering, but I am still amazed that she can find three boyfriends.  I know plenty of nice women in their 20’s, 30’s, 40’s, and 50’s who have difficulty getting dates.  Every one of them is saner and prettier than Ms. Armstrong, and they are also considerably less likely to kill their boyfriend and stuff him in a freezer. 

11 thoughts on “The Real Mystery of Marjorie Diehl-Armstrong

  1. Perhaps it’s an unacknowledged, underlying awareness that one just might be killed and stuffed in a freezer that adds a certain zing to those relationships?

    There are a lot of weird, strange people out there, Ray. =8^o

  2. I have wondered that very same thought. It’s just confirms there is truth to the age old adage….”there’s a Dick for every Jane.”

  3. Anne, you may well be right. After all, black widows seem to have no trouble finding mates. And, if Dr. Stephen Maturin (Jack Aubrey’s ship’s surgeon in Master and Commander) is to be believed, the male praying mantis can continue to copulate for several hours after the female bites its head off. yet the species endures.

    Emma, The pictures of her boyfriends (and some of their life stories) can be reached through the link I provided. “Sane” and “pleasing to the eye” are not descriptions that come to mind.

  4. As I think about this, I am reminded of Proverbs 5:3-5:

    For the lips of an immoral woman drip honey,
    And her mouth is smoother than oil;
    4 But in the end she is bitter as wormwood,
    Sharp as a two-edged sword.
    5 Her feet go down to death,
    Her steps lay hold of hell.[a]

    When I taught proverbs in Sunday School, I looked at this passage and thought of a man being tempted by a pretty, appealing woman. The adulterous woman in Proverbs certainly advertises herself this way, and it is easy to forget that she is lying.

    But now that I think about it some more, if a man has adultery on his mind, he becomes progressively less choosy. The country song “The Girls all Get Prettier at Closing Time” sums up this thought quite accurately.

  5. Yeah, if you were in my Sunday school class, instead of making sure Christopher knows more about the Bible than his dad, you would know that I worked Tim McGraw’s song “Can’t tell Me Nuthin” into my Proverbs lessons about The Fool.

    “Talk is cheap, and free advice is worth the price you pay….I have to find out for myself the hard way….Can’t tell me nuthin’ “. Tim seemed to have the Fool just about perfectly defined in this song.

    For any great truth in life, there is a country song to express it.

  6. Pingback: Evolutionary Fairy Tales « Books, Toys, and Games

  7. ACTUALLY YOU SEEM CRAZIER THAN POOR MARGE! THIS SHOWS YOU HOW DUMB STORIES AND RUMORS AND LIES GET STARTED. MAYBE YOU SHOULD STICK TO WRITING ABOUT THINGS YOU REALLY KNOW ABOUT. MARGE DIDNT HAVE 3 BOYFRIENDS , YOU MADE THAT UP. BARNES WAS NOT A BOYFRIEND NEITHER WAS ROTHSTEIN AT THE TIME.

  8. Some people (Too many in my opinion) are attracted to criminals and perverts. This world is going to Hell in a tabagon

Leave a comment